Thomas Named to Scholar All-America Third Team

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The honors keep rolling in for Charlotte women’s soccer senior Martha Thomas, as she was slotted to the United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-America Third Team, as announced by the organization Thursday. She was one of three players from Conference USA represented on the squads, while being one of three repeat recipients from a year ago.

Thomas, the two-time Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year and three-time member of the All-Conference USA Academic Team, advanced to the national ballot after earning United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-South Region First Team plaudits earlier this week.

The Weston, Florida, product becomes the first player in program history to garner multiple NSCAA or United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-America honors. Overall, the 49ers have had four other individuals collect accolades, including Lindsey Ozimek (2007), Hailey Beam (2008), Sam Huecker (2010) and Megan Minnix (2010) in addition to Thomas’ first plaudit in 2016.

In order to be eligible, a student-athlete must carry at least a 3.30 cumulative GPA, started more than 50 percent of her games and significantly contribute the team’s success, be nominated by a head coach of a current United Soccer Coaches college services member institution and be at least a junior academically.

Players honored on the squads will have a chance to be formally acknowledged for their on and off the field accomplishments at the All-America Luncheon January 20, 2018, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in conjunction with the 2018 United Soccer Coaches Convention.

2017 United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-Americans
First Team
F: Anna Beffer, Oklahoma State
F: Imani Dorsey, Duke
M: Samantha Chaiken, Rice
M: CeCe Kizer, Mississippi
M: Lindsey Lane, South Carolina
M: Bri Visalli, Pepperdine
M: Nikki Walts, Ohio State
M: Sandra Yu, Notre Dame
D: Paige Culver, Kent State
D: Schuyler DeBree, Duke
D: Morgan Wolcott, Ohio State
GK: Casey Murphy, Rutgers

Second Team
F: Kayla Cappuzzo, Northeastern
F: Sammy Edwards, Ohio State
F: Kyla McCoy, Duke
M: Sophia Cortes, UNLV
M: Julie James, Baylor
M: Hannah Lopiccolo, Northeastern
M: Marisa Viggiano, Northwestern
D: Madeline Anderson, Hofstra
D: Rachel Bloznalis, Boston
D: Vanessa Gilles, Cincinnati
D: Bianca St. Georges, West Virginia
GK: EJ Proctor, Duke

Third Team
F: Martha Thomas, Charlotte

F: Simone Charley, Vanderbilt
M: Joanna Boyles, North Carolina
M: Katie Glenn, Texas
M: Mariel Gutierrez, Northern Colorado
M: Jessica Reinhardt, Fairleigh Dickinson
D: Kayla Sharples, Northwestern
D: Kelli Swenson, Milwaukee
D: Laurene Tresfield, Oklahoma State
GK: Lauren Clem, Northwestern
GK: Kesley Daugherty, UAB


(original article