Two former Weston Fc players selected to Conference All-Freshman Team

MSOC: 2017 All-Conference Awards Announced

IRVING, Texas – FIU nabbed four of six Conference USA specialty awards, the program’s first postseason recognition since joining the league in 2005.

Complete Release (PDF)

Junior Santiago Patino was voted men’s soccer C-USA Player of the Year, Offensive MVP and received the Golden Boot. Patino leads C-USA in goals (10), points (21), shots (27), goals per game (1.25) and points per game (2.62), and was named C-USA Offensive Player of the Week a record five times this year. The Orlando, Florida, native was awarded the Golden Boot for scoring the most goals in conference play with 10.

Golden Glove was awarded to the two goalkeepers with the most shutouts in league play, both with four. Old Dominion sophomore Mertcan Akar recorded four shutouts in eight games and had 40 saves. Freshman Enrique Facusse of Kentucky also registered four shutouts and has a .71 goals against average, the best in conference play, also earning him Freshman of the Year.

Aaron Herrera of New Mexico was voted this year’s Defensive MVP after anchoring the Lobos defense and registering two points in conference play. Herrera was named a 2017 PDL Players to Watch in College List and a Top Drawer Soccer Best XI Second Team.

FIU coach Kevin Nylen nabbed Coach of the Year after leading FIU to an undefeated season and the C-USA regular season title in his first season. Under Nylen’s guidance, the Panthers improved to 11-0-4 from last year’s 10-7-2 record.

Charlotte picked up three first-team honorees in Daniel Bruce, Callum Montgomery and Tommy Madden. Redshirt junior Bruce has four goals and nine points in conference play and on Nov. 6 was named C-USA Offensive Player of the Week. Junior midfielder Madden has been integral for the 49ers on both offense and defense, starting every game and registering his first-career goal this season. Montgomery helped the Charlotte defense to two shutouts in league play and assisted on a game-winning goal against Marshall.

FIU earned two more spots on first team with senior Paul Marie and sophomore Joris Ahlinvi in midfielder positions. Marie is right behind fellow teammate Patino in points at 12 and has four goals and four assists in conference play, and was named C-USA Offensive Player of the Week twice this season. France native Ahlinvi has nine points, two goals and is tied for first in assists with five in C-USA games, including a game-winner against New Mexico.

Rounding out the All-C-USA first team are South Carolina forward Luca Mayr and Kentucky defender Alex Bumpus. Mayr was named Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 25 and has seven points with two goals in league play. The Austria native has started every game for the Gamecocks and leads them in points overall and in C-USA games. Senior Bumpus has been key for the Wildcats defense that has four shutouts on the year.

2017 C-USA Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team Presented by Ready Nutrition

Player of the Year
Santiago Patino, F, FIU

Offensive MVP
Santiago Patino, F, FIU

Defensive MVP
Aaron Herrera, D, New Mexico

Golden Boot Award
Santiago Patino, F, FIU

Golden Glove Award
Mertcan Akar, Old Dominion
Enrique Facusse, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
Enrique Facusse, GK, Kentucky

Coach of the Year
Kevin Nylen, FIU

First Team
F: Luca Mayr, South Carolina
F: Santiago Patino, FIU
F: Daniel Bruce, Charlotte
MF: Paul Marie, FIU
MF: Joris Ahlinvi, FIU
MF: Tommy Madden, Charlotte
D; Aaron Herrera, New Mexico
D: Alex Bumpus, Kentucky
D: Callum Montgomery, Charlotte
GK: Mertcan Akar, Old Dominion
GK: Enrique Facusse, Kentucky

Second Team
F: Brandon Perdue, Old Dominion
F: Lewis Knight, Marshall
MF: Niko Klosterhalfen, Old Dominion
MF: David Valverde, UAB
MF: Massimo Ferrin, UAB
D: Chris Wallander-Ianev, South Carolina
D: Tom Smart, New Mexico
D: Fox Slotemaker, Old Dominion
D: Carlos Diaz-Salcedo, Marshall
D: Marvin Hezel, FIU
D: Mathieu Laurent, UAB
GK: Jason Beaulieu, New Mexico

Third Team
F: JJ Williams, Kentucky
F: Max Wilschrey, Old Dominion
F: Sam Gleadle, New Mexico
MF: Sebastien Hauret, Old Dominion
MF: Aaron Scott, New Mexico
MF: Kevin Barajas, Kentucky
MF: Teddy Chaouche, Charlotte
MF: Donald Tomlinson, FIU
D: Leon Jones, Kentucky
GK: Hugo Fauroux, FIU

All-Freshman Team
Enrique Facusse, Kentucky
Lewis Knight, Marshall
Alessandro Campoy, FIU
Justin Sukow, South Carolina
Brandon Perdue, Old Dominion
Joe Brito, Charlotte
Billy Jones, New Mexico
Ferdinand Solberg, Florida Atlantic
Leon Jones, Kentucky
Matias Barraza, FIU
Aime Mabika, Kentucky
Hans Kroschwitz, Old Dominion
Nick Barreiro, New Mexico

[original article:]